Tag Archives: Lord Finesse

Episode08 ´Hip Hop´

1. Dj Premier – 1-2 Pass It D&D All Stars, Underground Classic
2. Spinna – the Truth 12, Guesswhyld
3. Spinna - Search 4 Love, Rythmix
4. Large Professor – Skillz in 95, Underground Classic
5. Lord Finesse – AK Skillz, Promo
6. Main Source – Watch Roger Do His Thing, Wild Pitch
7. Money Boss Players – Mind, Body and Soul, Promo
8. Grooveman Spot – Love is in the Way(instrumental), Planet Groove
9. Eric B. & Rakim – In the Ghetto, Mca Records
10. PMD – It´s the Pee, Relativity
11. Ol Dirty Bastard – Shimmy Shimmy Ya, Promo
12. De La Soul – Double Huey Skit, Hip Hop Gold

Lord Finesse

Lord FinesseLord Finesse is a Hip hop artist and producer, hailing from The Bronx, New York, best known as the leader of the D.I.T.C. rap crew. In 1989, Finesse and his former partner DJ Mike Smooth signed to Wild Pitch Records, home to other popular Hip Hop artists like Gang Starr, Main Source, Chill Rob G, Percee P and O.C.. In 1990, the duo released their debut album Funky Technician. The album featured production from future star beat-makers DJ Premier, Diamond D and Showbiz. Soon after, Finesse formed the popular New York underground crew D.I.T.C., an acronym for ‘Diggin In The Crates’, together with Showbiz & AG and Diamond D. Future members included Fat Joe, O.C., Buckwild and the late Big L.

Finesse returned as a solo artist in late 1991 with his second effort, Return of the Funky Man. The album featured guest appearances from Percee P and AG. The album’s title track peaked at #13 on the Hot Rap Singles chart. Return of the Funky Man also included a couple of songs that were produced by Finesse himself, and this would be the start of a career as a much respected hip-hop producer. In 1994 Finesse made a production appearance on The Notorious B.I.G.’s classic debut Ready to Die, on the track Suicidal Thoughts. In 1995, he produced a big portion of Big L’s debut album Lifestylez Ov Da Poor & Dangerous, including the single M.V.P. and also made an appearance on one of the album’s highlight songs “Da Graveyard”. He finally returned as an artist in 1996 with the now rare 12″ single Check The Method and then the acclaimed album The Awakening. Finesse produced the entire album himself, and enlisted a large number of guests, including O.C., KRS-One, MC Lyte, Akinyele, Showbiz and A.G., Diamond D and Kid Capri. The underground single Actual Facts, featuring Sadat X, Grand Puba and Large Professor, was included as a hidden track on the album.

Finesse hasn’t released a studio album since this effort, but has continued his production work. In 1997, he produced the title track to O.C.’s acclaimed effort Jewelz and also the track “Channel 10″ off of Capone-n-Noreaga’s debut The War Report. Finesse released a mixtape called Diggin’ On Blue in 1999. Later in the year, he produced the track The Message on Dr. Dre’s seminal 2001 album. Finesse is currently working on a Funky Technician remix project, as well as a new D.I.T.C. album. Along with these projects, he and DJ Premier are working on a posthumous Big L album.

In 1998, Finesse provided the vocal sample on the hook to The Rockafeller Skank, a hit single by British musician Fatboy Slim from his album You’ve Come a Long Way, Baby. The song features Finesse’s repeated line “Right about now, the funk soul brother. Check it out now, the funk soul brother”.

Lord Finesse returned to the mic on Handsome Boy Modeling School’s album White People in 2004. He was featured on the song entitled “Rock ‘N’ Roll (Could Never Hip-Hop Like This) pt. 2, collaborating with famous old-school DJ’s Grand Wizard Theodore and Jazzy Jay. Chester Bennington and Mike Shinoda from Linkin Park make appearances, as well as Rahzel of The Roots.



Lord Finesse – On the m.i.c, Promo

Lord Finesse – AK Skillz, Promo

Episode02 ´Hip Hop´

1. Main Source – What you Need, Wild Pitch Records
2. Dam Funk - I like your big azz girl, Circle Star Records
3. Eazy-E - Radio, Ruthless Records
4. Money Boss Players - Bronx Niggas, Promo
5. Dj Premier – Danger, Underground Classic
6. Large Professor – Extra Abstract Skillz, Underground Classic
7. Cash Money & Marvelous – the Mighty Hard Rocker, Sleeping Bag Records
8. Lord Finesse - On the m.i.c, Promo
9. Main Source - Looking at the front door, Wild Pitch
10. Kid Flash – Hot like fire, CBS Records
11. Casper – War of Words, Capitol Records
12. Ice-T – the Hunted Child, Sire Records

© 2002 - 2014 Soul Sessions Radio. All Rights Reserved.